ON RESPECT

Image

ON RESPECT

If you really want respect, don’t ask for it, don’t fight for it,  don’t claim for it. If you want respect, give it.

MY EXPERIENCE: I recently spent sometime in a neighborhood away from home. Each morning when I came out to wash the car of my host, there is this lady that lives in same compound that would just pass by without greeting me or even looking my way. At first, the emotion I had was that of disgust and I was like, “Well, she must have had a bad upbringing.  If she wants it that way, fine. I will also keep to myself. Nonsense! “.

 But I found out that I was being sentimental.

NEW APPROACH: I stopped thinking from the perspective of getting respect and started thinking of giving out what I wanted. I convinced myself that humans are different and some bad experiences may make a person become paranoid and too skeptical of doing the right things that they know should be done. All that is needed most times was to give such people gradual doses of love and allow time to play its role.

So each morning when she passed,  I called her by name and said “Good morning ” with a smile on my face. I wasn’t even thinking of being greeted anymore. I noticed that that stress and stiffness I felt when she passed (which of course I also noticed in her body language ) gradually eased away.

RESULT? 

FEW days later she came out and before I could open my mouth,  she said “Good morning “, smiling!!!

Tension gone. Everyone happy.

You see,  THE MEASURE OF RESPECT YOU GET FROM PEOPLE, WHETHER AT HOME, WORK, NEIGHBORHOOD, CHURCH, SCHOOL….  ANYWHERE,  IS NOT A FUNCTION OF WHAT AMOUNT OF RESPECT YOU DESERVE BUT WHAT AMOUNT OF RESPECT YOU GIVE. 

Try it today. And come to think of it, what’s even too big or wrong with being the first to greet someone that is younger or whatever than you? I mean apart from the fact that it may lighten you of that BIG load – Pride.

Listen to the words of Jesus: “Whatever you want others to do to you, (first) do it to others “. Matthew 7:12.

This is Anaturuchi .I. GreenBrain saying….  Uhhm….  Bounce and soar. The future is Green.       

Your comments are highly anticipated and will be appreciated.

Let’s meet on twitter @agreenbrain

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “ON RESPECT”

Leave a Reply

